Walkies – Stage 11

Bude – Crackington Haven (10.2 miles)
Distance from Minehead – 134.6 miles / Distance toPoole– 498.7 miles

It can be tough starting again after a rest day and so although the first 4 miles were marked as easy, I was a little stiff and it took a while for me to get back into the walking. To help me on this first stretch my mum decided to walk with me. She accompanied me to Widemouth Bay, at which, when the path then became ‘strenuous’ she left me for the quicker way to travel – the car!

It was at this point that 3 folk from Loxbeare (near Tiverton) decided to join me. Unfortunately (and not realised until well into the walk) they had misread the directions and thought it was an ‘easy’ walk all the way to Crackington Haven. As we set out from Widemouth Bay they thought they were in for a gentle amble along the North Cornwall Coast– not that there is such a thing! Their perceptions of the day’s walking was so very far from the truth – it was a tough 6 ½ miles of some very steep climbs. Luckily they were seasoned walkers and coped very well with the unexpected change of grading.

Looks like Ron & Margaret climb up out of the sea!

Some of the climbs were so steep that you couldn’t see the bottom of the valley you were descending to or climbing up out of. In fact one path looked like it emerged from the sea. From certain angles it looked a whole lot scarier than it felt whilst on the path. Our perceptions were a little off.

 

 

The other day (I forget which as I seem to have lost all sense of time and days of week!) I had climbed up a hill to see a great panorama of beautiful coastline.It was certainly well worth the slog. I was also quite pleased to see a bench, which was much needed at that point. But instead of looking out over this vista of splendour, the bench was placed directly behind a bush – so as you sat down all you could see was the bush.

cor, what a view!

 The view was limited and anyone who sat there missed out on so much beauty, even if they did get their breath back.

It just made me realise how many times I get it wrong. How, from my limited and inexperienced perspective, I misjudge what’s going on, the path ahead, the actions of others. I am all too quick to make a judgement from the sidelines when I have failed to see what it is like from the path itself. I also wonder how many times I have unwittingly plonked myself down behind a gorse bush, when I am being given the whole world to see. 

So as I continue on this journey, I will do my upmost to not enforce limitations on my own views and vistas. I will enjoy meeting folk from all over and trying to see things from their perspectives. I will trust that God, who has the greatest viewpoint of all, is in control. And I will make sure I check the walking guide to know what grading each day ahead will actually be!

2 responses to “Walkies – Stage 11

  1. “For He Himself has said, ‘I will never leave you nor forsake you.'” Heb 13:5 Hear the sound of the Lord as you walk in His garden. This is what God the LORD says— the Creator of the heavens, who stretches them out, who spreads out the earth with all that springs from it, who gives breath to its people, and life to those who walk on it. Is 42:5
    Natalie, you’re amazing!

  2. Great comments Natalie. I do know what it’s like to sit behind the gorse bush… thanks for reminding me to keep my eyes on the big picture. Or the glimpse I’m allowed – the glimpse in which you’re a big part at the moment! God bless… The walk can only get easier now…
    Joan

Leave a Reply

