Walkies – Stage 1

Minehead – Porlock Weir (9.5 miles)
Distance from Minehead – 9.5 miles / Distance from Poole – 624.3 miles

Today has been a day of faces…

Firstly we had a meeting of 26 people at the official start of the South West Coast Path to celebrate the starting of what will be a long journey. This crowd included some old faces – people whom I know and who have been supporting The Leprosy Mission for years, and some new faces – folk who came along keen to learn more and to support this epic journey.

Then there were the bright faces of eagerness when everyone was offered the feet shaped biscuits mum and I made (I needed to do something fun to de-stress last night!).

As the 5 of us walkers got underway it was clear that it was the endearing face of Toby, with his bright blue eyes and cheeky grin, which was going to be the focus of attention when we met other walkers on the path. One such walker has since donated on my just-giving page since falling in love with my spotty dog along today’s route!

At the end of the day’s walk it was the faces of amazement as we walked into Porlock Methodist Chapel to find a wonderful and tasty spread of cakes and sandwiches!

And finally as I settle down after the first day’s walk completed I have realised that it has been a day for my face to get sunburnt – despite the weather being overcast and grey (perfect walking weather) my face is now glowing red!

I look forward to tomorrow’s stage and to the new faces….and I will remember to wear suncream even when it’s cloudy!

4 thoughts on “Walkies – Stage 1

Leave a Reply

